slumber: (fics)
Title: How I Married Your Mother
Fandom: Harry Potter
Pairing: Draco/Astoria, some Theodore/Daphne, Blaise/Pansy, Roger/Astoria
Rating: PG-13
Word Count: ~7500
Summary: When Daphne and Theodore get engaged, making sure Astoria follows through with maid-of-honor duties becomes the best man's responsibility. But aiding and abetting was hardly what Draco signed up for.
Additional Notes: Written for [livejournal.com profile] hp_canon_fest for the prompt "Asteria is a criminal mastermind, Draco is her reluctant sidekick. The crime in question could be the heist of the century or something as simple as stealing an apple. Means, motivation, success up to the author." Original posting can be found here, although in this version I switched the spelling back to Astoria. My betas [livejournal.com profile] carlyinrome and [livejournal.com profile] todaythesamesky did rock star stuff for me! Any further mistakes are mine post-beta. Also, the shameless allusion to a popular prime time TV show sort of extends past the title.

This is the story of how I married your mother. )
slumber: (city girl: chicago)
Random Writing Babble

I was reading an old application for a game -- think June 2008, almost exactly three years ago -- and realized that a phrase I used to describe my character's appearance back then is almost exactly the phrasing I used to describe a character in a fic I wrote this year. Granted, I was thinking of the same man while I was writing both, but the semi-self-plagiarization probably means I'm a little too used to using the same turns of phrases or something.

Blergh.

Read a couple of posts recently about POV and epithets too, things I'm not normally aware of when I write, and yep. I've been very recently guilty of them.

Double and triple blergh.

Glompfest Beta?

Due to [livejournal.com profile] alaana_fair's not-so-subtle pimping, PLUS the availability of an awesome prompt that I just couldn't say no to, I signed up for Glompfest. Which is funny, because I actually checked, and I have a total of two Harry/Draco fics in my archives, ahahaha. Also, don't look, because I'm not proud of either of them.

Anyway. Almost a third of the way through, and I was wondering if anyone on the flist would like to beta? It will probably be under 5,000 words. I hope.

Het Big Bang Tips and Beta?

I signed up for [livejournal.com profile] het_bigbang with a Slytherin-based plot in mind. It's 25k minimum, due September 20th or something close to that date, and I'm not allowing myself to start it until Glompfest gets done. I know 25K is peanuts to some of you (and you have my eternal admiration), but I've never written anything over 10,000 words. So. I need some help? Possibly a beta who will help point out plot holes, iron out loopholes and what-have-you, and then proofread along the way, if someone has the time. And if you've participated in a big bang before...

What generally works best in terms of outlining/planning so you know you'll reach 25K? How do you determine whether or not you have enough of a plot to make the minimum, but not too much that it goes way over? (I don't want to be unable to finish it, since deadlines seem to be my only motivation for writing things.)

General words of wisdom? Advice? Writing habits that really help and writing habits that really don't?

Thanks. ♥
slumber: (house of awesome)
I know very few of you are into hockey, but I know I've got a flist made up of pretty much all the colors of the rainbow, so I thought you might be interested in something that's been going on in hockey fandom about the LGBT movement. I was actually going to copy&paste a post that someone had made on the latest development, but then I realized that maybe not everyone knows what most of the developments had been. I don't know how much of the stuff in hockey actually transcends national news/interest, so in case you aren't aware, I thought I'd put together a little bit of a primer on what's going on. (Granted, this is stuff as I remember it, so it's not meant to be all-encompassing or anything, but still.)

It started with Brendan Burke )
slumber: (house of awesome)
*waves* Been around commenting a bit, just not posting.

But I did want to post a rec, and I realize I am probably SO LATE with this, and I am pretty sure recs went around sometime last year when this first got posted, but I just read this last last week and you know how each ship in fandom has this epic story that more or less is the standard all stories written for the ship have to live up to? This is it. I think this is THE fic for Draco/Astoria.

Title: The House that Cedric Built
Author: [livejournal.com profile] annafugazzi
Rating: R
Fandom: Harry Potter
Pairing: Draco/Astoria
Category: 8th year fic, Romance/Drama
Summary: Draco didn't think there was much reason to hope for a better future. Asteria proved him wrong.

Recommendation: Two things first.

1) I did not like the idea of Astoria Greengrass at first. I always thought Draco would end up with Pansy. And while I was primarily a slasher, I was okay with that. When JKR first said Draco married someone called Astoria Greengrass, my first thought was "WHO THE FUCK WHY DID SHE DO THAT???" I was not happy.

2) But I felt like I had to make Draco/Astoria work in my personal canon, because it was now, in fact, canon. If you know me well, you know I'm pretty happy shipping characters that had a total of five mentions in the book. The reason behind that is probably because deep down, I am at heart a stickler for canon. Now that Book 7 and the epilogue have been released, I feel kind of compelled to keep stuff that I write within canon. I get a little bit more freedom writing about unimportant people like Terry Boot or Theodore Nott without feeling like I'm going way off course the actual events in the book or the interviews. And I also try to bridge JKR's inconsistencies. (There is an entire backstory in my mind about how Terry Boot could have been at Hogwarts in their 7th year despite being marked as a Muggleborn in JKR's notes, for example.)

So I wondered about D/A, and how they got together, and made up random stories in my head. I didn't like the idea of an arranged marriage, didn't like how the assumptions were less than favorable towards Astoria. I wondered how much like Pansy she would be, and because I'm a pretty big Draco fan, I wanted him to have a happy ending too.

Enter The House that Cedric Built. I stumbled onto it after coming up with an idea for a fic that I had titled "The House that Theodore Nott Built" which is probably why I started to read THTCB, and initially I thought I would just read it a bit and click out. It is a LONG story, and I never have any patience for anything more than 5,000 words. (Which is funny, because I'm well aware that my own stories recently have gone over that limit...)

But then I couldn't just put the story down. It is just so well-written, and compelling, and oh my god just one of those stories that you can see happening in canon, despite the fact that the trope used (8th year) might have elicited a scoff from me had I known that's what was going to happen.

IDK I just think, if you haven't yet, you should go and read it. :|
slumber: (house of awesome)
So I don't really follow any news about the movies AT ALL, just kind of figured anything big enough might make it to my flist one way or another, but that's the problem with being interested in things that very few people on the flist are interested in.

Like Astoria Greengrass. Who has apparently been cast as early as... what, June of last year?

Cut for the spoiler-averse )
slumber: (what if)
Title: A Year in La Rochelle
Fandom: Harry Potter
Pairing: Draco/Hermione
Rating: NC17
Word Count: Under 8,000
Summary: A small town with a secret, a Ministry worker gone missing. Hermione and Ron are sent to investigate the Malfoys' involvement, but discovering the truth is only going to lead to a lot more trouble than it's worth.
Additional Notes: Written for [livejournal.com profile] cryptaknight my first year of writing for [livejournal.com profile] smutty_claus. Originally posted here.

Sturgis Podmore hadn’t wanted to retire. )
slumber: (city girl: chicago)
  1. What did you do in 2010 that you'd never done before?
    Learned how to drive!

  2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
    I was supposed to have made some but I don't think I kept them. I've never been good at resolutions, SIGH.

  3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
    Nope.

  4. Did anyone close to you die?
    Nope.

  5. What countries did you visit?
    No countries. I visited, um. Florida, and I can't remember what else. Austin! And those were the big ones. I also went to Columbus, I think.

  6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?
    Just the ability to travel to other countries.

  7. What date from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
    June 9, 2010.

  8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
    Learning how to drive. Seriously. Weight off my shoulder. Except now I'm pretty sure I've forgotten how. :(

  9. What was your biggest failure?
    Not knowing how to manage time, priorities, etc.

  10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
    Nope, thankfully.

  11. What was the best thing you bought?
    Ummmm, I don't know. How about my bed? Some of the stuff in my apartment? Nothing too big, really. Ooh, I know! My TV!

  12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
    Caroline's, for dealing with me, LOL.

  13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
    Random "WE SHOULDA KEPT NIEMI/BUFF/LADD" fans. Do they count? Yes, they do.

  14. Where did most of your money go?
    Uhhhhhhh rent. :|

  15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
    The Stanley Cup! Random trips! My parents coming to visit!

  16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
    Chelsea Dagger by The Fratellis, lmao.

  17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
    i. happier or sadder? happier
    ii. thinner or fatter? fatter
    iii. richer or poorer? richer

  18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
    Been more physically active. Read more books. Written more things.

  19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
    Getting into internet arguments. Fail.

  20. How will you be spending Christmas?
    I spent it with my cousin and his family. I was there for a couple of days and we were at somebody's house for a party every night, seriously.

  21. Who did you spend the most time on the phone with?
    Didn't call anybody up, but I've been texting Caroline a lot annnnnnd probably on the phone most with my parents and my cousin.

  22. Did you fall in love in 2010?
    Ummm I don't know. Nothing too too new in the life, so maybe not so much.

  23. What was your favorite TV show?
    Again, not a lot of new stuff. Doctor Who, mostly. Amy Pond is love.

  24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
    Nope.

  25. What was the best book you read?
    Tough one. I don't remember much of what I read. Proooooobably not a good sign, haha.

  26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
    Nothing. :(

  27. What did you want and get?
    An Amazon Kindle. A STANLEY CUP.

  28. What did you want and not get?
    The ability to go back home. Still a big question mark in my life, sigh.

  29. What was your favorite film of this year?
    I'ma have to put Deathly Hallows in, just because it was fantastic. Did Kick-Ass come out this year? Because that was great. And Inception!

  30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
    I turned 24 and they got me cake at the office and we went out that weekend. I'm starting to forget how old I actually am, this is probably a bad sign.

  31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
    Having lots and lots of time and managing that well. I mean, we all get the same amount, obviously, but. Yes.

  32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?
    Needs work, lmao.

  33. What kept you sane?
    Not having to study for anything all the damned time. This working thing, I like it. My mom keeps asking me if I'm going to pursue another degree and I'm just all "Nope."

  34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
    Karen Gillan! A couple hockey players, and Cillian Murphy and Boyd Holbrook still.

  35. What political issue stirred you the most?
    Uhhh I try to stay out of politics as much as possible.

  36. Who did you miss?
    My friends back hoooooome.

  37. Who was were the best new person people you met?
    Did I actually-- oh, you know what, there's a couple of new people at work, including my current office-mate, who are pretty awesome. So them.

  38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010:
    When you have more than three priorities, you have none.

  39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
    We are collapsed in the act of just being here
slumber: (Default)
Title: The Things They Don't Tell You
Fandom: Harry Potter
Pairing: Percy/Oliver
Rating: NC-17
Word Count: ~3500
Summary: You had a plan, a path, a purpose, but nobody told you things didn't always work out to your liking.
Additional Notes: Way belated post, but I figured it better be in here for archiving purposes. I wrote this last year for [livejournal.com profile] artemis_sparks for [livejournal.com profile] hp_yule_balls fest. Never written this pairing before, I don't think. I kinda liked how it turned out.


To think once you thought the only thing your father lacked was ambition. )
slumber: (Default)
  • I GOT MY DRIVER'S LICENSE LAST FRIDAY! 7 hours of actual driving practice with an instructor... yeah, uhm, it's less about my driving and more about Chicago's RIDICULOUSLY LOW STANDARDS FOR THEIR ROAD TEST. Seriously, all the lady made me do was park behind a car, turn the wheel wherever I needed to turn it if I were park downhill, drive around a block, go through traffic cones and reverse in a straight line, and park. NOTHING on parallel parking, three-point turns, etc.

  • I got my [livejournal.com profile] smutty_claus assignment and I am kind of excited to do it!

  • PRESEASON PRESEASON PRESEASON!!!

O HAI GUYS

Aug. 21st, 2010 06:49 pm
slumber: (house of awesome)
I JUST SAW THE FIRST HALF OF HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS.
slumber: (house of awesome)
No, really. They are. It's got Olivia Newton-John in it.




AND GAMES WITH DANCE NUMBERS. AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA WHAT.
slumber: (yikes again!)
1. You moved out nearly two weeks ago and left a TON of your stuff with me, some of which [livejournal.com profile] ccharlotte and I already threw out.

2. I went through the effort of calling a junk removal service and setting up an appointment to get an estimate so that YOUR stuff can be taken away, called to let you know how much it would cost, and agreed to let you take them out yourself because you didn't want to pay.

3. You texted at 8pm today after agreeing to come over after 6pm to tell me you fell asleep and would be here in 20 minutes,

4. although you arrived in 40,

5. and then you promptly spend the next 20 minutes CHATTING WITH A FRIEND ON YOUR PHONE?

*BAFFLED FOREVER*,
me
slumber: (city girl: chicago)
Just in case y'all didn't know yet, my boys are



YOUR 2010 STANLEY CUP CHAMPIONS




No actual words, except I just got my H1B approval in the mail this week, and we just got approved for a new apartment, so I get to watch these boys for at least three more years.

Even if "these boys" won't be the exact same 2009-2010 roster, but that's for another day.
slumber: (yikes again!)
In my hurry to get to the shower this morning I picked up one of those LUSH products lying around my room thinking it was soap--it was not, it was a shimmy shimmy massage bar--and now I am LEGIT sparkling.
slumber: (city girl: chicago)
I can't believe it, but this will be the 6th time out of the last 7 years that I'm doing this. If there's anything in my LJ at all that means anything to me personally, it's these. Helps me keep track of my life, haha.

  1. What did you do in 2009 that you'd never done before?
    • Got a full-time job
    • Graduated grad school-- I nearly forgot about this, hah.
    • Went to my first playoff game!
    • Went to my first playoff series, for that matter :|
    • Went to all three days of Lollapalooza
    • Organized a tweet-up? God, I'm running out of stuff. I don't think I have any more. Sad. :(
    • Oh wait, one more: wrote RP fic. Ahahahahahaaa.... :|

  2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
    I didn't make any, but I'll be making some for 2010.

  3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
    Nope.

  4. Did anyone close to you die?
    Nope, but a lot of celebrities did.

  5. What countries did you visit?
    Sigh. No countries. US cities, though: San Francisco, CA; Minneapolis, MN; Pittsburgh, PA... that's about it. This needs to be fixed next year. :|

  6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
    The ability to manage time, work, life, etc. The ability to travel to other countries.

  7. What date from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
    February 27: Jonny Toews scores a hat trick. Twice. On hard hat night. I wasn't even there. :| I remember game 6 of the Vancouver series but not the date, haha. Feb 27 just happens to be seared in my memory.

  8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
    Transitioning into the working world? Sort of? I'm still getting there. I guess being self-sufficient.

  9. What was your biggest failure?
    Um. Not quite being all there, haha. I think not having to study anymore has dumbed me down, so I need to find ways to continue educating myself past post-grad. I also suck at keeping in touch. Like. Really suck at it. :\

  10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
    Well, I've got acute bronchitis right now. :|

  11. What was the best thing you bought?
    Probably my Droid. Probably my netbook. I'll go with the netbook, because it's been perfect so far and was actually more of a bargain than the Droid. Plus, I didn't buy it because I'd lost the old model. :|

  12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
    A lot of random people. I keep finding myself surprised and delighted by random acts of kindness and coolness.

  13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
    No one, really.

  14. Where did most of your money go?
    Oh god. Well. Wait. Rent and savings. And entertainment. :|

  15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
    Things that still haven't happened yet, unfortunately. I got excited about the playoffs though!

  16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
    Poker Face or Bad Romance by Lady Gaga, haha.

  17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
    i. happier or sadder? sadder
    ii. thinner or fatter? fatter
    iii. richer or poorer? richer?

  18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
    Travel, I think. Read more books, maybe. Exercised. *sigh*

  19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
    Sat around doing nothing. It's always this, isn't it? Heh.

  20. How will you be spending Christmas?
    I was with my cousin and his family for the third year in a row. Love my nephews and niece. ♥

  21. Who did you spend the most time on the phone with?
    Unlimited texting with Line!

  22. Did you fall in love in 2009?
    With a new obsession/fandom, yeah, haha.

  23. What was your favorite TV T?
    Gossip Girl and HIMYM, still. These last few days I've started catching up on all Criminal Minds reruns that I could get on cable, so I guess that too? Coupling and The IT Crowd, both of which I discovered this year, haha, so they count, dammit.

  24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
    Hate is such a strong word. No, I don't.

  25. What was the best book you read?
    Uh. World War Z. I think I read that this year.

  26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
    Does Lady Gaga count as a musical discovery? LOL idek.

  27. What did you want and get?
    A new smartphone, a netbook, a TV screen, hockey tickets, etc.

  28. What did you want and not get?
    The ability to go back home for Christmas.

  29. What was your favorite film of this year?
    Up in the Air is so fresh in my memory, so I'll pick that. But um. I also really liked Half-Blood Prince. I think Line & I watched it 3 or 4 times, haha. And Coraline. I liked that one.

  30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
    I turned 23, haha. But the birthday weekend involved a hockey game! And just chillaxing, really.

  31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
    Going hooooooome.

  32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
    I had none. Oops.

  33. What kept you sane?
    Well I didn't go crazy a lot of the time, really.

  34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
    Uhhhhh. Natalie Dormer is probably the most prevalent, inexplicable crushes on weird-looking people aside. :| She's just so pretty!

  35. What political issue stirred you the most?
    Erm. Nothing much. Same old, same old.

  36. Who did you miss?
    Everyone back home. (I'm sounding more homesick than I actually am, haha.)

  37. Who was were the best new person people you met?
    Soooooo many, once more. Michelle, Kat, Sarah, Anne, Alice, Em, Kate, Kate, K (who I suspect may be a third Kate, lol), etc etc. People I've sort of bumped into online and wherever else. Just. Hi. You're all awesome. :D

  38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:
    Don't take things for granted.

  39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
    the remedy is the experience
    It is a dangerous liaison
    I say the comedy is that its serious
    Which is a strange enough new play on words
    I say the tragedy is how you're gonna spend
    the rest of your nights with the light on
    So shine the light on all of your friends
    because it all amounts to nothing in the end.
    I wont worry my life away.
    I wont worry my life away.

Profile

slumber: (Default)
Slumber

January 2026

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 09:09 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios